A Gotcha with Default Entitlement Assignment on CRM Online 2015 Update 1

Recently one of the client that I’m working on had their CRM Online instance to be updated with Update 1. There are a couple gotchas that we encountered. One of them is the new feature to set the default entitlement to Case (incident) entity. This new feature is really good productivity enhancement for the service users, as they don’t need to manually assign the entitlement for some common requests.

However, it is depends on the implementation and business process. On my current implementation, I don’t use the entitlement when tracking a case (as it is for a public enquiry), therefore I exclude entitlement from my solution and removed the security privilege of Entitlement entity for generic users roles. Then, because of this new feature I received some questions from the users that they are no longer able to create case. By default, the automatic assignment is turned on.

So as a workaround, I need to turn off this default entitlement assignment by navigating to Settings > Administration > System Settings > Service and turn off the Automatically apply entitlement settings.

Administration

Settings

For more details of the default entitlement: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn689025.aspx

2 thoughts on “A Gotcha with Default Entitlement Assignment on CRM Online 2015 Update 1

Leave a comment